Help: Account details




Personal details

This panel will capture the essential details needed for registration. The process will involve knowing your name and your usual role in the application or appeal process. You can change all of these details at any time after creating your account, but we need this information to get your account created correctly to begin with.

Choose your title (for example, Mr, Mrs) and your first name and surname. If you choose the title, ’Other’, you must put something in the ‘Other title’ field. And, if you do not pick ‘Other’ as the title, you will not be allowed to enter a value in the ‘Other title’ field.

Professional users are usually those with a typical role of acting as an agent on behalf of someone else who is having some construction or demolition work done (for example, architects, private-sector planning consultants, representatives of companies carrying out planning applications and appeals). These users will have some extra features to help share work with other office or company staff, including the ability to create an organisation they will commonly share proposal information with. Accounts created with this setting can still be used for sending in personal applications or appeals. However, you must be aware that you may want to review the sharing settings for these applications as they will automatically go back to the settings for your organisation.

General- public users are not usually involved with the application or appeals process in a business or commercial sense, but are generally focused on their own personal property. However, this group may include amateur property developers. Accounts created with this option have some reduced sharing features which will make the site easier to use. However, you will still be able to grant access to your application or appeal, for your architect or solicitor for example, by using their email address. This is useful to allow them to review your application or appeal before you send it into the local authority.

If you share work with other users as an organisation administrator, you will not be able to change your User type from professional until to you remove the organisation or pass the role to another user to act as administrator.